half of my heart’s got you

February 14, 2010

Yo yo yo.

First, happy Valentine’s Day!
I know most of you aren’t as lucky as I am to have a really sexual Valentine. Who, you may ask, has stolen my heart? Who has claimed possession of my attentions on this very momentous holiday? Who makes my world turn and gives me reason to wake up every morning?

Why, none other than my BFFizzle / muse Walt!

This is Walt:


I would also like to add that my Valentine is the best Valentine ever. Way better than certain roomates’ Valentines… my Valentine has written me a song to be performed on his own accordian. BEAT THAT!

So clearly I’ve decided late to start a blog. So rather than rehashing everything I’ve been doing in the last 3 weeks (which includes over 6 cities, like that’ll happen!) I’ll just be starting from where I am now. Additionally, I apologize for the haphazard-ness of this entry.

I am unfortunately rather sick right now. We all know that I have a superhuman immune system and every germ fears me, but somehow – SOMEHOW – I caught what every student in AIFS Prague had, which is some form of cold/cough/unnecessary nasal congestion. I call it the “Prague Plague”. And since we all know how I deal with illness, of course I have it worse than everyone else had it (except maybe Kacy, whose cough sounds like she’s smoked a pack a day for the last twenty years). But you know that I of course handle every illness with grace, and never ever complain or remind anyone of my trials or explain exactly why my face is so puffy.

But we all know that being sick will not stop me from having fun.
See?
(this is me drinking the “free” bottle of wine they gave us in the wine cellar in Moravia)

On Friday night, we went to this epic club called Lucerna which plays 80s/90s music. All I know is that when I heard Nena singing “99 Luftballoon” I knew that this was going to be my favorite club in the entire world. Indeed, three hours, two Grease songs (it is unclear to me why the Czech people worship Grease so much, but I hear a Grease song at least once a week in restaurants here), Madonna’s “Like a Prayer”, and “I’m a Barbie Girl” later, I knew that this club is where I will be taking anyone who visits me.

Last night, pretending I was not in fact ill, we decided to go to U Sudu, an “underground labyrinth” of a wine bar, where they ingeniously serve PITCHERS OF WINE. I just don’t understand why the United States doesn’t catch on certain aspects of European culture, like that and the fact that in the basement of my kolej (dorm) there is a pub, and that pivo is in fact cheaper than water. Brilliant.

And since some of you have inquired, here is proof of my new bomb dot com friends –
Here are two wonderful girls who I am beyond pleased to introduce to you guys as my good friends here, Celia and Jenny.

Becca is hilarious and is from Texas and on the right is Paulos, my ever-awesome roommate.

We are all partners in crime and are all equally determined to experience every aspect of Czech culture (minus going to the live sex shows, we are not at all interested in that).

and I know you guys are like, “my god, all they do is party!”

FALSE. Proof that we do more:


See? We totally go on trips to museums (we’re at the Gregory Mendel, father of genetics, Museum who did all the experiments with the peas) and freeze inside and outside the many churches we visit.

Academics-wise, I’m halfway done with my godawful Czech class. It’s hard and boring. And 4.5 hours of it every day makes me want to scream. I don’t get any academic credit for it at UPS, either, so it’s frustrating. I have learned a lot like numbers and adjectives but it’s really not all that helpful except for ordering food. But my professor takes us out on field trips all the time so it’s not as bad as it was last week!

Clearly I am having a generally AMAZING time here! I love the people and places I’ve been. Exploring the city is really satisfying and it’s getting harder and harder for me to GET lost since I’m learning the city so well.

Okay, it’s starting to get dark and I need to go to Billa so Paulos and I can prepare for the extravagant Valentine’s Day dinner we are making our respective Valentines for tonight. Let me just say it is NOT EASY to make extravagant dinners on finnicky hot plates.

Also, if anyone wants to send me some Mac’n’Cheese, I’d love that. Also, send me Misty because she needs me right now. I scratch her tummy like no one else in her world.

I’ll update more soon! Keep checking back!

4 Responses to “half of my heart’s got you”

  1. Elyssa said

    “lol” but you knew that because I’m sitting next to you right now

  2. there is no mention of choco cafe in this post. fix that.

  3. so i very deeply appreciate that you, how should i say, saved the world from my overwhelming sex appeal (as you yourself have so graciously claimed) by choosing one of my slightly less flattering pictures. i know youre just looking out for people.

    and thats why youre the greatest.

Leave a Reply

